Saturday, December 28, 2013

R.I.P. 2013

Among those Star Trek lost in 2013 were several actors in the original series: Katherine Woodville (Natira in “For the World is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky”), Jay Robinson (Petri, ambassador from Troyius in “Elaan of Troylius”) and Peter Duryea (Lt. Jose Tyler in “The Cage.”)

 The Klingon Empire lost actors Michael Ansara (Kang in three TOS episodes,) Victor Lunden (a Klingon in “Errand of Mercy” who costarred in the cult s/f film Robinson Crusoe on Mars and who insisted that Star Trek was really his idea) and Tom Deishley (who played Motog at Star Trek: The Experience.)

 Malachi Throne appeared as Pardek in both TNG Spock “Unification” episodes as well as “The Cage.” Ed Lauter appeared in TNG “The First Duty,” Robin Sachs in Voyager, and Mary Carver in Enterprise.

David Richard Ellis was a stunt player on the feature Star Trek V; Susan Rossitto on Voyager. Legendary stunt player Hal Needham doubled Gary Lockwood on “Where No Man Has Gone Before.” Dick Butler was stunt coordinator on TNG’s “Encounter at Farpoint” and stunt double for Brian Keith on the DS9 first season episode “Progress.”

Richard Matheson
 Behind the camera, Richard Matheson was a legendary s/f writer who wrote the classic episode “The Enemy Within” for Star Trek. Mike Gray, an Oscar-winning writer for The China Syndrome, was a TNG producer for 13 episodes of its second season, and wrote “Unnatural Selection.”

 James Mees was the Emmy-winning set director for TNG, VOY and Enterprise. Marvin Paige was the casting director for Star Trek: The Motion Picture. A.C. Crispin was a Star Trek novelist.

 The science fiction world lost the prominent writer and s/f historian Frederik Pohl, possibly the only Nobel Prize for Literature winner to publish several volumes of science fiction, Doris Lessing, and s/f authors Andrew J. Offutt, Patricia Anthony, Jack Vance and Steven Utley. Jacques Sadoul was the French literary critic whose 1973 history of science fiction jump-started the academic study of s/f.

 May they rest in peace. Their work lives on.

No comments: